History of WCLG, Morgantown
This very incomplete article was created on June 22, 2009. Additional information is welcome via email.
WCLG went on the air in December 1954 on 1300 kHz.
According to the Wikipedia article, WCLG operated with an initial power of 500 watts. Studios were located on High Street, with transmitter on Jackson Street in Westover. In 1955, the station increased its power to 1,000 watts.
The 1956 Broadcasting Yearbook shows WCLG operating on 1300 kHz with 1000 watts daytime. The station was owned by Morgantown Broadcasting Co. and was located in the Farmers & Merchants Bank Building. The telephone number was 2-2222. C. Leslie Golliday, president. John Johns, station manager. Richard C. Stinsel, commercial manager. Terry Duane, program director. Edward Barbe, chief engineer. John Ford, news director and sports director. Hilda Whiteley, women's director.
The station’s call letters come from the name C. Leslie Golliday.
According to the Wikipedia article, country and western air personalities such as Shorty King, brother Charlie Arnett, and Matt Maddox anchored several hours each morning of such music, while Golliday himself broadcast weekend programs that featured both semi-classical and classical music.
On Dec. 19, 1959, Freed Broadcasting Corporation acquired the station.
The 1961-62 Broadcasting Yearbook shows the station owned by William S. Freed, who is also listed as the general manager. The telephone number was Linden 2-2222. William Hosey, commercial manager. Eleanor Freed, program manager. Jack Johns, news director. William K. Miller, chief engineer.
The 1969 Broadcasting Yearbook shows the station owned by Freed Broadcasting Corp. with the following personnel. William S. Freed, pres & gen mgr; James Feather, coml mgr; Eleanor Freed, prom mgr; Jack Johns, news dir; William K. Miller, chief engr.
On Sept. 28, 1974, WCLG-FM began broadcasting, according to the Broadcasting Yearbook.
The 1975 Broadcasting Yearbook shows WCLG owned by Freed Broadcasting Corp. with the following personnel. William S. Freed, pres & gen mgr; Garry Bowers, coml mgr; Bob Sherman, prog dir; Fred Hiser, mus dir; Charles Hussion, news dir; Richard H. McGraw, prom mgr. William Miller, chief engineer. It indicates that WCLG-FM went on the air on Sept. 28, 1974. It is shown operating on 100.1 MHz with 3 kw and an antenna height of 90 ft. The station duplicates AM programming 70% and has a progressive format. Ken Williams is shown as the program manger.
The 1980 Broadcasting Yearbook shows WCLG owned by Freed Broadcasting Corp. with the following personnel. Mrs. William S. Freed, pres; Garry Bowers, VP & gen mgr; Larry Nelson, prog dir; Bob Elliot, mus dir; Lee Crowthers, chief engr. The station had an MOR format and was affiliated with NBC.
According to the Wikipedia article, in 1983 Garry Bowers became the owner of the station. He had been with the station since 1958, when he began as an announcer while a student at West Virginia University.
The 1986 Broadcasting Yearbook shows WCLG owned by Freed Broadcasting Corp., operating on 1300 kHz with 2500 watts, daytime. Net: NBC. Format: Lite hit. Garry Bowers, pres & gen mgr; Rebecca Hunn, coml mgr; Larry Nelson, prog dir; Ted deSelding, mus dir; Terry Walker, news dir; Robert Ice, chief engr. WCLG-FM is shown with a format of contemporary hit radio. Net: NBC's The Source. Tim Satterfield, prog dir; Craig Cochran, mus dir.
The station’s web site is at wclg.com.