History of WLOG, Logan
The following history was supplied by the station for a 1989 publication.
A second wave of radio stations was organized in the state in the late 1930's through the early 1940's. One of these was Radio Station WLOG, Logan, West Virginia, going on the air Saturday, July 20, 1940.
A radio station for Logan had been discussed by Logan citizens over a period of several years. A local furniture store possessed one of the original permits to operate a station, but let it expire. Others had gone so far as to discuss with lawyers the advisability of applying for a license, but no formal action was taken until the fall of 1938. While attending a banquet of newspaper representative at Morgantown, in October, 1939, Clarence H. Frey, owner / publisher of the Logan Banner was asked why Logan did not have a radio station. The question remained in his mind to such an extent he asked a good friend, Robert O. Greever, who was associated with the old Merrill Coal Company at Henlawson to assist him in making a survey to see if Logan could support a radio station. If so, they would enter into a partnership.
B. R. Martin, who was circulation manager at the Banner, prior to coming to Logan, had been associated with a newspaper in South Carolina that had built a station. He contacted a radio engineer, W. E. Henderson, who came to Logan and mapped out the essentials of procedure. John R. Atkinson, then the Banner advertising manager, conducted the survey, later becoming sales manager at WLOG, Quinelle Vann as copy writer, John Atkinson as commercial manager and Martha Jane Williams (Becker), special events.
With all preliminary data carefully compiled, it was forwarded to Pratt and Pratt, Washington Communication lawyers, with formal application being made in February, 1940. Following a Washington hearing in September, the applicants spent several months anxiously awaiting some approval from Washington. This they got with permission to file an application for erection of the tower.
Mr. Henderson again came to Logan to supervise this phase of the work. After much difficulty in obtaining a site that would meet with F. C. C. approval, the equipment was ordered shipped and construction began. After completion of the entire installation, Henderson left, at which time Victor J. Andrew, a Chicago engineer, was hired to conduct the test patterns and actually prepare the station for air tests. These began on Thursday, May 23, 1940 at 2:30 A. M. and it was found that WLOG was adhering to its 1200 Kilocycle assignment. Permission was then requested to begin a regular daytime broadcast test. On Sunday afternoon, May 26, 1940 at 4 p. m. the first broadcast was made from WLOG.
Having satisfied all requirements of the F. C. C., the license was granted effective July 2, 1940, and a new source of news, entertainment and advertising service to the Logan community became a reality.
With Robert O. Greever as station manager, the remainder of the staff included, Eddie Vann, program director, and his wife, Quinelle Vann. Those special events included the King Koal Show, a 13 week Sunday afternoon program sponsored by area coal companies. Miners and their families auditioned and then the best was put on the air along with safety messages as commercials.
Upon the death of Clarence Frey, followed by Greever's death, WLOG was sold to a group of five Logan businessmen (in 1963): Phil Glick, A. S. Buddy Ammar, Jr., James Muscia, the new publisher of the Logan Banner, Joseph Eros and Bill Bailey, a group that owned it until 1962. At that time, Bill Bailey bought out the other owners and continued to own the station until April, 1985, when it was sold to the Donco Corporation. Don Coleman was president and general manager. The station was forced into receivership in 1987 at which time Logan Bank and Trust applied for the license application. That was granted in July, 1988 with trustee Thomas C. Truman. General Manager is Russell R. McGuire.
[Note: The final paragraph in the above article may have some errors. See the FCC microfiche data below.]
Jan. 25, 1940. A construction permit for 100 watts on 1200 KHz is granted to the partnership of Clarence H. Frey, publisher of the Logan Banner, and Robert O. Greever, a mine payroll clerk.
1949. The 1949 Broadcasting Yearbook shows owners Clarence H. Frey and Robert O. Greever. The station was located at Kanada and Chestnut Streets. Robert A. Morrow was general manager and program manager. Francis Warren was commercial manager. Pat Mullvihill was program director. Lou Frey was chief engineer.
1970s. Keith Cook wrote on Facebook: “I worked at WLOG from July of 1977 to January of 1979 and had just stated there when the owner Bill Bailey added the 2nd floor to the building for his office and an apartment for him and his mother. During construction we had a huge flooding rain storm and the roof fell in and we had to move the whole works to two rooms in the back of the record store (WLOG Musicland) that Bill owned. I worked with Jerry Godby, he was the news director then, he was a super nice guy and a real pro. He also wrote for the Logan Banner.”
October 26, 1990. WLOG seeks assignment of license for donation from Logan Bank & Trust Co. to Southern West Virginia Community College. Donor is headed by Frank Oakley and William Wagner and has no other broadcast interests. Recipient owns a nonprofit TV donated by local cable company.
December 28, 1990. FCC granted application for assignment of license as donation from Logan Bank & Trust Co. to Southern West Virginia Community College.
March 8, 1993. WLOG seeks assignment of license from Southern West Virginia Community College Foundation to CD Entertainment Incorporated for $40,000. Buyer is headed by Albert R. Spencer II and has no other broadcast interests.
April 16, 1993. FCC granted assignment of license from Southern West Virginia Community College Foundation to CD Entertainment Incorporated for $40,000.
April 18, 1997. The license for WLOG-1230 is cancelled.
Feb. 5, 2002. The WLOG call is assigned to a station in Markleysburg, Pennsylvania, where the letters stood for “Lamb of God.”
From the FCC microfiche files, February 4, 1998. WLOG 1/25/40 Granted a C.P. for a new station on 1200kc with 100 watts, Daytime, at Logan, WV, eff. 1/26/40. 7/2/40 Date first licensed. The licensee was Clarence H. Frey and Robert O. Greever, Logan, WV. They were granted 1200kc, 100 watts, Daytime. 12/17/40 Granted a mod. of license for 1200kc, 100 watts, unlimited. 3/24/41 Under NARBA, they were granted 1230kc, 100 watts, unlimited. 4/1/41 Granted a C.P. for 1230kc, 250 watts, unlimited. License to cover the C.P. granted 6/19/41. 7/26/60 Invol. assign. of lic. to Robert O. Greever, Individually and as Executor of the Estate of Clarence H. Frey, deceased, eff. 6/2/60. 3/29/61 Granted a C.P. for 1230kc, 250 watts, 1kw LS, unlimited. License to cover the C.P. granted 10/5/61. 1/23/63 Vol. assign. of lic. to Guyan Valley Broadcasting Co., eff. 2/1/63. 4/28/67 Vol. transfer of cont. of lic. corp. from A.S. Ammar, E.M. Bailey, Joseph Bros, Jr., Phil Glick, Jr., James A. Musica and the W.L. Robinson Co. to E.M. Bailey, Joseph Bros, Jr. and James A. Musica. 4/19/73 Vol. acquisition of positive cont. of lic. corp. by E.M. Bailey through purchase of stock from Joseph Bros, Jr., and James A. Musica, eff. 5/31/73. 10/22/81 License renewed. END OF FILE
Everett Morris “Bill” Bailey (1927-2015)
LOGAN, W.Va. — Everett Morris “Bill” Bailey, 88, of Logan, departed this life Wed., July 15, 2015, at Trinity Healthcare in Logan.
Born June 6, 1927, In Logan, Bill was a son of the late Russell Merle and Ossie Inez Morris.
Mr. Bailey was the former president and general manager for Guyan Valley Broadcasting, which entailed the former WLOG Radio from 1963-1985. Bill was a member of the First Presbyterian Church of Logan and a former tourism marketing specialist for the Tourism Division of West Virginia. Bill also served in the US Army during World War II and where he held the rank of Sergeant.
Survivors include one son, Russell Morris Bailey of Logan; one step-son, Andy Johnston of Leesburg, Va.; two grandsons, Nicholas Ryan Bailey and Alexavier Reagan Bailey, both of Lewisville, N.C.; one granddaughter, Trinity Marie Bailey of Lewisville, and many other family members, good friends, and business acquaintances.
Services will be held at 7:30 p.m. Fri., July 17, at Honaker Funeral Home with Father George Kostas officiating. Burial will follow in Woodmere Cemetery at Huntington at 11 a.m. Saturday.
Visitation will be from 6-9 p.m. Friday at the funeral home
For email condolences go to www.honakerfuneralhome.org
Honaker Funeral Home in Logan is in charge of Mr. Bailey's services.