History of WTCS, Fairmont

Under Construction

Some pictures of WTCS, provided by Scott Reppert, are here.

Some sound files, provided by Scott Reppert, are here.

WTCS originally used the call WVVW and the frequency 1490 kHz. A construction permit was issued on June 3, 1947.

According to the 1948 Broadcasting Yearbook, WVVW went on the air in 1946. According to the 1949 Broadcasting Yearbook, WVVW went on the air in 1947.

The 1948 West Virginia Blue Book says, “Has construction permit as of this date. Aug. 1, 1947.”

The 1948 yearbook shows WVVW owned by Fairmont Broadcasting Co., Inc., located at WVVW Radio Park, affiliated with MBS. Personnel: J. Patrick Beacom, Pres. & Gen. Mgr.; J. Harvey McCoy, Vice-Pres.; Howard Forbes, Coml. Mgr.; John F. Watkins, Prom. Mgr.; Whip Robinson 3rd, Prog. Dir.; J. Harvey McCoy, Chief Engineer.

On May 26, 1948, WVVW was licensed.

On Dec. 14, 1948, Broadcasting magazine reported that WVVW-FM, Fairmont, owned by Fairmont Broadcasting Co., received a Class B permt for 92.3 MHz, ERP 14 kw, antenna 240 feet.

The 1949 yearbook shows personnel as follows: J. Patrick Beacom, Pres.; George Blackwell, Gen. Mgr.; Frank Watkins, Coml. Mgr.; Wip Robinson III, Prog. Dir.; C. J. Hinkle, Chief Engineer.

The 1949 West Virginia Blue Book shows a construction permit for WVVW-FM on 92.3 MHz with 10,000 watts.

A newspaper article on Apr. 3, 1950, reported that WJPB-FM expected to be on the air about May 15.

The Broadcasting Marketbook of Aug. 18, 1952, shows WJPB(FM) on 92.3 MHz with 10,000 watts.

In 1955 the call letters of WVVW were changed to WTCS. (Subsequently, the WVVW call was transferred to a new daytime only station on 1260 kHz in Grafton.)

In 1955 Connie B. Gay acquired WTCS.

The 1956 Broadcasting Yearbook shows WTCS owned by Fairmont Broadcasting Co. Personnel were: Connie B. Gay, president; Donald J. Tucker, vice president; Robert E. Cobbins, commercial manager, program manager; Millicent Tucker, program director, women's director; Ed Lenaway, chief engineer; Hal Denny, news director, farm director; Nick Fantasia, sales director.

On April 4, 1956, the FCC granted transfer of control of WTCS to Nicola Fantasia for $21,500.

Skipping a lot of years, in 2017 WTCS-1490 was broadcasting a news-talk format.

FCC records show the call letters were changed from WTCS to WBKE on March 1, 2018.

Return to front page